Understanding MOC

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requirements were developed by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and implemented by all ABMS member boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

For ABIM Board Certified physicians, in addition to certification status, ABIM reports whether or not you are “participating in MOC” (i.e., continuously engaging in MOC activities). This applies to all ABIM Board Certified physicians, including physicians certified before 1990 and hold a certification that is valid indefinitely (“grandparent”).

Read the ACR's MOC responses and review our rheumatology board certification page for more information.

ABIM MOC Requirements

The ABIM’s Assessment Options page provides detailed information on the changing requirements and Knowledge Check-In. For information about your personal MOC status and to see your specific requirements, login to your ABIM physician page.

  1. Hold a valid and unrestricted license
  2. Visit the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) to learn more about your state’s licensure requirements.

  3. Every 2 years (to be reported as participating in MOC) - complete at least 1 MOC activity (points earned will count toward 5 year requirement)

  4. Every 5 years (to stay certified)  - earn 100 MOC points (at least 20 in medical knowledge)

  5. Every 10 years (to stay certified) - pass the MOC Exam for your certification(s) within 10 years of when you last passed

Meeting MOC Requirements

For information about your personal MOC status and to see your specific requirements, login to your ABIM physician page.

Board certified before 1990 (grandparent)
Your initial certification is valid indefinitely; however, you do still need to enroll in the ABIM MOC program to be reported as "Participating in MOC". If you choose not to enroll or miss any of the MOC requirements, you will be reported as "Certified, Not Participating in MOC."

Board certified after 1990 (before 2014)
You will continue to be certified until your current certification expires. To be reported as "Certified, Participating in MOC," you will need to enroll in the ABIM MOC program and complete at least one ABIM-approved activity every 2 years. Every 5 years, a total of 100 MOC points must be earned. Once your current certification expires, you will only be eligible to renew your certification if you are enrolled in MOC and "Participating in MOC".

Newly certified (2014 and after)
Your certification is contingent upon whether you are meeting MOC requirements at the two, five, and ten year milestones. You must participate in continuous MOC activity to remain certified.

MOC Practice Assessment

The ABIM has suspended the Practice Assessment, Patient Voice and Patient Safety requirements through December 31, 2018. As stated in the ACR’s MOC Position Statement, ABIM should not reinstate these requirements as part of the recertification process because they are redundant with existing requirements. Upon expiration, the ACR retired the AIM:RA and AIM: Gout modules (December 31, 2015).

If you are looking for practice assessment opportunities visit the ABIM Approved Quality Improvement Program or the ABMS Continuing Certification Directory.

Earn MOC Points from ACR

Stay at the forefront of your profession through a variety of online activities that assess your rheumatology medical knowledge and enhance your patient care.

The ACR’s CARE activities were designed by rheumatologists for rheumatologists with the goal of providing educational opportunities to earn MOC points while reflecting a rheumatologist’s scope of work.

Each activity is comprised of case-based, multiple-choice questions with in-depth answer rationales and links to suggested readings. Upon successful completion, participants can earn MOC points equivalent to the amount of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ claimed for the activity.

Browse ACR's MOC activities

© 2020 American College of Rheumatology.  All rights reserved.  Website & Privacy Policies | Sitemap | Help | Contact Us