The American College of Rheumatology is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

ACCME-accredidation with Commendation

The American College of Rheumatology designates its educational activities for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ and also offers activities designated for ABIM MOC points. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in any CME activity. Non-physician participants may claim hours to receive a Certificate of Participation for the extent of their participation in any activity designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. See ACR's CME Mission Statement.

Claim CME Credit

For live activities, CME credit must be claimed within one year of the activity expiration date. For online activities, CME will be automatically applied upon completion and cannot be edited.

To claim CME credits, login and go to My Educational Activities. Locate the CME activity you wish to claim and select Claim Credit (to view or update your credit, select View Credit).


After you have claimed CME, select Certificates to access printable certificates.

Claim MOC Points

If you are enrolled in the ABIM and/or ABP MOC program, you can claim MOC points after successfully completing an ACR educational activity that has been designated for ABIM or ABP MOC points. If MOC points are available, MOC will be noted on the activity.


After claiming CME, you will be asked if you wish to claim ABIM MOC. If you select Yes, you will be prompted to enter or confirm your ABIM Diplomate Number and date of birth. After submitting, you will be prompted to enter a reflective statement in order to earn ABIM MOC points. Enter the statement and select Submit. Per ABIM guidelines, ABIM MOC points must be claimed in the year the activity is completed.


If ABP MOC is available, you will see an online quiz on your My Educational Activities page. To claim ABP MOC, it is necessary take the quiz and get a score of 70% or higher. After you pass the quiz, your points will automatically be submitted to ABP.

MOC points will be applied for ABIM/ABP diplomates to the ABIM/ABP number and date of birth provided on the activity registration. Points are sent nightly to ACCME and transferred from there to the respective ABIM/ABP Physician Portal. Please allow at least 48 hours for points to be reflected in the portal.

EULAR and Other International Activities

Physicians may earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ for participation in select international educational activities. With an approved credit conversion application form and fee, the AMA will convert CME credit issued to physicians for participation in live and e-learning activities certified by the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME), the accrediting arm of the UEMS, to AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Visit the AMA’s website for detailed instructions on converting international CME credit through AMA.

AMA PRA Category 2 Credit

AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™ is self-designated and claimed by individual physicians for participation in activities not certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™ that meet certain AMA PRA defined criteria. Download the AMA’s PRA Booklet to view AMA PRA criteria for category 2 credit.

Category 2 Documentation: The physician should self-claim credit for ap¬propriate AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™ activities and document activity title or description, subject or content area, date(s) of participation and number of credits claimed. Physicians may not claim AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™ for an activity for which the physician has claimed AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Each physician is responsible for claiming and maintaining a record of their AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™.

Credit Calculation: as with live activities, physicians should claim credit based on their participation time with 60 minutes of participation equal to one (1) AMA PRA Category 2 Credit™; credit is claimed in 15 minute or 0.25 credit increments; must round to the nearest quarter hour.

For more information, download the AMA PRA Booklet.

© 2021 American College of Rheumatology.  All rights reserved.  Website & Privacy Policies | Sitemap | Help | Contact Us