ACR Recognition

Each year the American College of Rheumatology recognizes its members' outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through an awards program.

Awards of Distinction

Awards of Distinction recognize the following: Presidential Gold Medal, Distinguished Service, Distinguished Clinician Scholar, Distinguished Clinical Investigator, Distinguished Basic/Translational Investigator, Paulding Phelps, Henry Kunkel Early Career Investigator, Distinguished Fellowship Program Director, Excellence in Investigative Mentoring, Innovation in Clinical Care, International Rheumatology Professional.

Learn more about the Awards of Distinction

2022 Awards of Distinction 

Betty Diamond, MD

Betty Diamond, MD Presidential Gold Medal

  • Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
  • Hempstead, NY
Daniel J. Lovell, MD, MPH

Daniel J. Lovell, MD, MPH Distinguished Service Award

  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, University of Cincinnati School of Medicine
  • Cincinnati, OH
James T. Rosenbaum, MD, MACR

James T. Rosenbaum, MD, MACR Distinguished Service Award

  • Corvus Pharmaceuticals
  • Burlingame, CA
  • Oregon Health & Science University
  • Portland, OR
Lisa G. Rider, MD, FACR, FAAP

Lisa G. Rider, MD, FACR, FAAPExcellence in Investigative Mentoring Award

  • National Institute of Environmental Health Science, National Institutes of Health
  • Bethesda, MD
Michael D. Lockshin, MD

Michael D. Lockshin, MDDistinguished Clinician Scholar Award

  • Hospital for Special Surgery, Weill Cornell Medicine
  • New York, NY
Judith A. James, MD, PhD

Judith A. James, MD, PhD Distinguished Basic/Translational Investigator Award

  • Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
  • Oklahoma City, OK
J. Michelle Kahlenberg, MD, PhD

J. Michelle Kahlenberg, MD, PhDHenry Kunkel Early Career Investigator Award

  • University of Michigan
  • Ann Arbor, MI
Cecilia P. Chung, MD, MPH

Cecilia P. Chung, MD, MPHHenry Kunkel Early Career Investigator Award

  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Nashville, TN
Sharad Lakhanpal, MD, MACR, FACP

Sharad Lakhanpal, MD, MACR, FACP Paulding Phelps Award

  • UT Southwestern Medical Center/Rheumatology Associates
  • Dallas, TX
Lisa Criscione-Schreiber, MD, MMed

Lisa Criscione-Schreiber, MD, MMedDistinguished Fellowship Program Director Award

  • Duke University School of Medicine
  • Durham, NC
Joel M. Kremer, MD

Joel M. Kremer, MD Distinguished Clinical Investigator Award

  • Albany Medical College, Albany Medical Center
  • Albany, NY
Nicolino Ruperto, MD, MPH

Nicolino Ruperto, MD, MPH International Rheumatology Professional Award

  • IRCCS Istituto Giannina Gaslini; PRINTO, Clinica Pediatrica e Reumatologia
  • Genoa, Italy
Herbert S. B. Baraf, MD, FACR, MACP

Herbert S. B. Baraf, MD, FACR, MACPInnovation in Clinical Care Award

  • Arthritis and Rheumatism Associates (Retired)
  • Washington, D.C.
Jane S. Diamond, MPH

Jane S. Diamond, MPHMark Andrejeski Meritorious Service Award

  • American College of Rheumatology (Retired)
  • Atlanta, GA


Distinguished Fellow Awards

The Distinguished Fellow Award recognizes up to ten clinical and research fellows who are in a rheumatology fellowship training program and have performed meritoriously. The Award is sponsored by the ACR and supported through the ACR Fellows Education Fund. ACR FIT members apply separately for the Distinguished Fellow Award and FIT Scholarship, however, those selected as a Distinguished Fellow Award winner will not be eligible to receive the FIT Scholarship in the same year.

Learn more about the Distinguished Fellow Awards

2022 Distinguished Fellows

Fatima Alduraibi, MD, PhD
Rebecca B. Blank, MD, PhD
Michael Loncharich, MD
D. Sofia Villacis Nunez, MD
Elizabeth Park, MD

Ahmad Ramahi, MD, MPH
Didem Saygin, MD
Melanie H. Smith, MD, PhD
Ajay Tambralli, MD
Rachel Wallwork, MD


ACR Master Designation

Recognition as a Master of the American College of Rheumatology is one of the highest honors the College bestows. The designation of Master is conferred on ACR members, age 65 or older by October 1 of the year in which they are nominated, who have made outstanding contributions to the ACR and the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and/or service to their patients, students, and profession.

Learn more about the ACR Master Designation

2022 Masters

Daniel Albert, MD
H. Michael Belmont, MD
Linda K. Bockenstedt, MD
Richard Bucala, MD, PhD
David A. Cabral, MBBS, FRCPC
Deh-Ming Chang, MD, MS, PhD
Arvind Chopra, MD, FRCP, MBBS
Maria C. Cid, MD
Anne Davidson, FRACP, MBBS
Abraham Gedalia, MD
Ellen M. Gravallese, MD
Max Hamburger, MD
Samina Hayat, MD
Leslie E. Kahl, MD

Asgar Ali Kalla, PhD, MBChB
Munther A. Khamashta, MD, PhD, FRCP
Alan J. Kivitz, MD
Andrew Laster, MD
Larry W. Moreland, MD
Nancy J. Olsen, MD
Carlos D. Rose, MD, CIP
Robert A. S. Roubey, MD
Kenneth Schikler, MD
Nina D. Schwartz, MD
Robert H. Shmerling, MD
Frederick Vivino, MD, MS
Robert W. Warren, MD, PhD, MPH

© 2023 American College of Rheumatology.  All rights reserved.  Website & Privacy Policies | Sitemap | Help | Contact Us