Standing Committee Eligibility

Per the ACR bylaws, the following categories of members cannot hold a position on an ACR Standing Committee: Emeritus Members, Honorary Members.

Members who are primarily employed by, serving in a significant leadership role, and/or on the Board of a rheumatology organization with competing interests are ineligible to serve as a volunteer.

Volunteer eligibility will also be evaluated using the ACR Conflict of Interest Principles. All Volunteers must complete a yearly disclosure form and confidentiality agreement. The disclosure form will need to be updated as needed.

Eligibility for Employees of Commercial Entities and Insurance Companies

The ACR values the unique perspective that employees who are primarily employed (primarily employed is defined as 50% or more of an individual's working time) by commercial entities and insurance companies can provide on ACR Committees, Subcommittees, Task Forces, and Special Projects; however, the ACR is also committed to limiting both real and perceived conflict of interest in its activities. In addition, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) guidelines do not allow members employed by commercial entities to participate in planning CME activities. A commercial entity is any entity that develops, produces, markets, re-sells, or distributes drugs, devices, services, information, therapies, or other health care goods and services used or intended to diagnose, treat, monitor, or manage people. This definition is not intended to include entities through which health care professionals provide clinical services directly to patients.

The ACR welcomes participation of members employed by commercial entities on the following standing committees:

  • ACR Board of Directors – but not eligible to be an officer
  • Communications and Marketing
  • Ethics and Conflict of Interest
  • Finance
  • Pediatric Rheumatology Special Committee
  • Research

The ACR welcomes participation of members employed by insurance companies on the following standing committees:

  • ACR Board of Directors – but not eligible to be an officer
  • Journal Publications

The ACR cannot allow members who are primarily employed by commercial entities and/or insurance companies to serve as members of the following committees:

  • ACR Executive Committee
  • Corporate Relations
  • Division Directors Special Committee
  • Education
  • Government Affairs
  • Nominations and Appointments
  • Quality of Care
  • Registries and Health Information Technology
  • Rheumatologic Care
  • Rheumatology Training and Workforce Issues
  • RheumPAC
  • ARHP Executive Committee
  • ARHP Membership & Nominations
  • ARHP Practice