ACR-endorsed Criteria for Rheumatic Diseases

Listed below are a number of ACR-approved criteria sets. More information about the purpose of criteria sets, their development and validation, and the role of the ACR in adopting them is available here .The checklist in this article has recently been updated.


Childhood Arthritis Definition of Improvement – 1997

Churg-Strauss Syndrome Classification – 1990


Giant Cell (Temporal) Arteritis Classification – 1990

Henoch-Schoenlein Purpura Classification – 1990

Hypersensitivity Vasculitis Classification – 1990

Osteoarthritis Classification

Polyarteritis Nodosa Classification – 1990

Polymyalgia Rheumatica Classification – 2012

Sjögren's Syndrome Classification – 2012

Systemic Sclerosis Classification

Takayasu Arteritis Classification – 1990

Wegener's Granulomatosis Classification – 1990 (now known as Granulomatosis with Polyangiitis)